FHSU Alumni Association welcomes three new board members

By Kayla Overbey

Saturday, Sept. 22, 2012

On June 8, the Executive Council of Fort Hays State University’s Alumni Association introduced three new board members at the summer meeting in Hays. Jon Armstrong, Hays; Dr. Diane Scott, Broomfield, Colo.; and Tracy Metzger, Hutchinson, were welcomed to the board.

Jon ArmstrongJon Armstrong received a Bachelor’s degree in Communication in 1996 and a Master of Liberal Studies in Organizational Leadership in 2008, both from FHSU. He is the assistant director of admissions and transfer coordinator in the FHSU office of admissions. He will serve a three-year faculty term on the board.





Diane ScottDr. Diane Scott, graduated from FHSU in 1988 with a Bachelor’s degree in Sociology and again in 1990 with a Master of Science degree in Counseling and Guidance. She obtained her Ph.D. in College Student Personnel Administration from the University of Northern Colorado in 1995. Self-employed as a consultant and life coach, she will serve on the board for four years.





Tracy MetzgerTracy Metzger obtained his Bachelor of Business Administration degree in Computer Information Systems from FHSU in 1996. He is the vice president and chief technology officer at Lowen Corporation in Hutchinson. He was appointed to a two-year term to fill a vacancy.

Dr. Marcella “Marcy” Aycock
 now serves as president of the board. She is a 1984 FHSU graduate with a bachelor’s degree in Art Education, as well as a 1994 Newman University graduate with a baster’s degree in Elementary Education. She obtained her Ph.D. in Educational Leadership from Kansas State University in 2006. Aycock is the director of the Early College Health Science Academy at Butler County Community College.The Executive Council of 2012-2013 is composed of Dr. Marcella Aycock, Sedgwick; Brenda Herrman, Hays; Dr. Stephanie Bannister, Manhattan; Daron Jamison, Hays; Dan Sharp, Healy; Dr. Mary Martin, Hays; and Dennis Spratt, Lawrence.

Brenda Herrman serves the board as past president. She graduated from Midwestern State University with a Bachelor of Applied Arts and Sciences in Public Administration in 1997 before obtaining a Master of Liberal Studies degree in Organizational Leadership from FHSU in 2000. Prior to retirement, Herrman held the position of director of public works for the city of Hays.

Dr. Stephanie Bannister serves on the Awards and Recognition committee as chair. She received her bachelor’s degree in Communications from FHSU in 1992, followed by a master’s degree in Higher Education Administration at the University of Kansas in 1995. Bannister obtained her Ph.D. in Education (Counseling and Student Personnel) from Kansas State University in 2009. She works as the associate director of housing at KSU.

Daron Jamison obtained a bachelor’s degree in Organizational Leadership and Bachelor of Business Administration degree in Management in 2003, both from FHSU. He works as the project coordinator of Nex-Tech Wireless, LLC, and will serve the board as Finance and Operations committee chair.

Dan Sharp is the Membership and Marketing committee chair. A 1984 FHSU graduate with a bachelor’s degree in Marketing, he is the president of Sharp Brothers Seed Co. in Healy and Greeley, Colo.

Dr. Mary Martin will serve as an at-large member of the board. Martin obtained a bachelor’s degree in Advertising from Kansas State University in 1988 and a Master of Business Administration in Management from FHSU in 1991. She graduated from the University of Nebraska in 1995 with a Ph.D. in Marketing. She is an associate professor of Marketing at FHSU.

Dennis Spratt graduated from FHSU in 1971 with a bachelor’s degree in Physical Education. He is the vice president of Wealth Management Group of KC, Inc., in Overland Park. Spratt will serve as an at-large member of the board.

Other members of the board include Molly Aspan ’00, Tulsa, Okla., attorney, Hall Estill;Cassie Augustine Jones ’96, Lakewood, Colo., vice president, O’Brien Advertising; Josh Biera ’92, Garden City, lieutenant, Kansas Highway Patrol; Monte Broeckelman ’92, Dodge City, chief financial officer, Pride Ag Resources; Brian DeWitt ’89, Hays, CPA, Adams Brown Beran & Ball Chtd.; Rich Dreiling ’69, Wichita, regional sales manager, Carlson Products; Diane Long ’72, Flower Mound, Texas, retired; Kevin Moeder ’82, LaCrosse, senior vice president/regional manager, Farmers Bank & Trust; Denise Riedel’86, Overland Park, owner, Riedel Communications/freelance consultant & writer; Chuck Sexson ’72, Topeka, director, Concealed Carry Licensing Unit, Office of Attorney General;Dave Voss ’80, ’82, Colby, network development manager, Centene Corp. Sunflower State Health Plan; Barry Yoxall ’81, ’82, Phillipsburg, vice president, First National Bank & Trust; and Gordon Zahradnik ’55, ‘58, Lyons, artist, Art of Z.

The association bids a fond farewell to three retiring board members:  Brad Haynes ’93, ’97, Hays; Stacy Kohlmeier ’84, Manhattan; and Half Century Club President Leo Lake ’57, ’61, Salina.

Established in 1916, the Fort Hays State University Alumni Association serves the population of FHSU graduates by identifying needs and providing solutions. More than 51,980 graduates live throughout the United States and approximately 73 foreign countries.  Twenty-four dedicated members comprise the Board of Directors and work to set the policy and direction of the association toward development of beneficial relationships between the university and alumni.

Board nominations are accepted as positions become available. To apply, please complete the application form, e-mail alumni@fhsu.edu or call 785-628-4430 or toll free 1-888-351-3591.

(This article was posted on the Fort Hays State University website in August of 2012 and am posting it here to archive my work. I was contacted by the FHSU Alumni Association to organize the information and write the article, and am listed as a guest writer in the original posting. Read the original publication here.)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s